leaving well

2013-01-30 21.30.07Later this year, we will be leaving York. It’s something that occupies my mind a lot these days, because I’m so determined to leave well.

I imagine that ‘change’ will be a big theme on this blog during 2013, so I’m not going to try and say everything I’m thinking here. Suffice to say that York feels like a best friend to me – a loyal supporter of my attempts at motherhood, a fertile soil for the cultivation of new experiences, relationships and ideas. Whatever the analogy, separating from York will be difficult and painful.

So I’m determined to leave well. I don’t want to wish away the next few months with dreams of the next place. I don’t want to sulk away the next few months with introspective gloom. Under the banner of celebration, I want to take every opportunity to spend time with the people I love. Usually, my conversation is littered with phrases like “We should…” and “Maybe we can…” but I’m learning to replace them with the more definite tones of “When are you free?” and “Let’s do…”. Everything worth celebrating over the next few months is going to be celebrated: birthdays, new babies, Easter, leaving. And I’m going to cram in as much time with friends as I possibly can.

Leaving has also reminded me of the things I’d still like to do in York and its surrounds. Go on the wheel, visit the Forbidden Corner, eat here again. There’s now more urgency to fix a date to enjoy these attractions.

I have been privileged to serve with a few different groups whilst we’ve been here: Tuesday Tots (our church toddler group), Mums’ Belfrey Group and Gracetots (under 3s group at our Sunday congregation). It’s a high priority to make sure that these groups continue to flourish, through training and commissioning new people to get involved. I don’t worry about this: I know God will provide. If He doesn’t, I shall have to have Words. 😉

The practicalities of a house-move – for me, at least – always force the ugly issue of possessions. We have far too much! So, rather than move it all to a new house, we’re going to attempt some sort of clear-out, and hope to sell as much as possible in aid of CAP, one of our absolutely favourite charities. (If you’re York-based, do come along and buy our junk…first weekend in March…email me for details.)

I know that no amount of planning and activity can hide the emotions I’ll feel when the time comes to go, but since I can’t predict those emotions, I’m happy to make the most of York while I can. And I have confidence in my God, who is constant, to go before us and plan good things.

“Because of the Lord’s great love we are not consumed, for his compassions never fail. They are new every morning; great is your faithfulness.”

Lamentations 3:22-23

Leave a Reply

