Posted in celebration, change, church, me, moving house, york

ten things i’ll miss about york…

1. Gillygate. The best street for shopping in the whole wide world. Seriously. There are two gorgeous independent toy shops, where I’m on first-name terms with the owners; a fabulous craft shop; my friend’s delicious little eatery Ambience, which makes the best Eggs Royale; and Shine, solution to all my present-buying problems ever.

Ambience, my favourite cafe, next to the best toy shop in the whole wide world.
Ambience, my favourite cafe, next to Bubbles, my favourite toy shop.

2. Pack-ups. Know what they are? If you’re not from/don’t live in Yorkshire, then probably not. Essentially – a packed lunch. By a better name.

2013-04-03 08.35.24

3. Snow. Every winter. Guaranteed. 🙂

Our snow nativity of 2009.
Our snow nativity of 2009.

4. Tourists. Silly thing to miss really, given where we’re moving to, but York seems to be just dominated by them, whereas Cambridge seems to match its tourist population head-for-head with students and science/IT geeks personnel. I’ll miss being asked directions by tourists. Even if it does happen, I’m going to miss not having the answer straight away.

5. Being asked at the chippie if I want ‘bits’. Not that I’ve ever dared say yes. (Mental note: add ‘bits’ to bucket list.)

6. Fairer World. On Gillygate, but deserves a separate mention because who else has an independent Fair Trade retailer a 10-minute walk away from their house? What a luxury. I think I’ll have to make special trips back just for this shop.

7. Simon Baynes van. When we first moved here, I thought my Dad had surreptitiously started a fruit and veg business two hundred miles away from his home, in order to spy on me (perhaps). Baynes is not a common surname, at least not spelt like that. What are the chances? Spooky.

IMG00065-20101201-0954
Simon Baynes van. And snow.

8. The accent. There is none better. Except Brummie. (Joke.) I was so hoping my kids would grow up with a Yorkshire accent. Now they’ll join me in the boring realm of Estuary English.

9. My church. Characterised by ridiculous amounts of cake, David Watson references (he was vicar in the 1970s) and social media presence. Also (proudly) one of the top Christian podcasts in the world! (If you like short, snappy,thought-provoking, Welsh things – give it a listen.) But mainly my church is a fantastic group of humble, encouraging, generous and godly people who I will miss hugely.

St Michael-le-Belfrey.
St Michael-le-Belfrey.

10. My friends. My list is in no particular order, apart from this entry, no.10 in a 1-10 scale, where 10 is the thing I’ll miss the most. Where do I start? Becoming a parent is such a weird, one-off life-event that you need people around you who don’t mind the vast amounts of milk stains on your clothes, and understand why you can never finish a sentence. The friends I’ve made during this life-stage are incredibly special to me. Everyone says I’ll make new friends, and yeah yeah, I know I will – I’m not totally socially-defunct – but friends are individuals with common interests, not items on a list which you can replace like-for-like. I will discover a new favourite shopping street, some new quirks to replace the Yorkshire ones I’ll miss, and I know my new church will become my spiritual home over time – but new friends do not replace old ones. So, to my York friends – you know who you are – whilst I cannot put into words just how you’ve crafted me over the past four years, I can at least say thank you for being so much fun to do life with. Thank you. 🙂

Author:

I'm a stay-at-home mum to four kids between 1 and 6, and was formerly a teacher. I blog about living life as a disciple of Christ whilst coping with the demands and excitements of having small children. I've been battling an addiction with chocolate for many years. I'm generally winning, but my teeth are not.

6 thoughts on “ten things i’ll miss about york…

  1. Pack Ups – that one made me chuckle. Promise me you’ll still call them pack-ups when you live in Cambridge!

    Also – that thing about Bits aka “scraps”. I still think – why would anyone CHOOSE to have that on their chips??

    1. Definitely keeping ‘pack-ups’ in my vocab, don’t you worry! Yes I’m with you on ‘bits’, but still like the idea that we in Yorkshire have something the rest of the country doesn’t! Will definitely try them before we leave! x

  2. I love scraps/bits! I just don’t let myself have them more than once a decade for fear of the coronary incident coming my way!
    Pack ups is good. What do you call an alley and has it changed since being in York?
    And we simply have our heads in the sand and say “lalalalala” any time someone mentions you leaving…

    1. Will definitely try bits then…unlikely to have them again this decade and haven’t had them for 32yrs so should be medically safe… Ooh yes…forgot snickleways! And no, we’re not really leaving…just temporarily moving near your parents 😉 xx

Leave a Reply

