Posted in celebration, family, food, hospitality

sabbath week day 3: sabotage

We are nearing the end of day 3 of Sabbath week and have already been given (not bought): oranges, a pineapple, sour cream, chocolates (Thornton’s and Ferrero Rocher), chocolate fingers, courgettes, peppers, cherry tomatoes, a cucumber, mushrooms, potato wedges, bananas, a butternut squash, roast beef, Easter eggs, pitta bread, pancakes, hot chocolate, Babybel cheese and cereal bars. To top it all off, we were bought an Indian takeaway last night. (In my defense, I already had a lamb goulash prepared, using leftover Easter roast lamb from the freezer and the aforementioned sour cream.)

A selection of Sabbath week abundance. Forgive poor photo quality - just using my phone at the moment, as I've totally failed to buy a camera for the last five months.
A selection of Sabbath week abundance. Forgive poor photo quality – just using my phone at the moment, as I’ve totally failed to buy a camera for the last five months.

Something is going wrong.

Sabbath week was supposed to be about living more simply, empathising with the poor, using what we had and being creative. Instead it’s turned into something of a minor Food Festival, minus the crowds of foodies traipsing through, comparing differently infused breadcrumbs.

Sabbath week is being sabotaged.

I don’t know much about the rules of sabotage (can anyone help me?), but having spent the last 24 hours mulling things over, it would appear that my only option is to foil the sabotage by planning an even more generous attack than that which has fallen on our fridge.

It’s time to start giving it away. For the rest of Sabbath week, we’ll be inviting people round for meals, taking contributions when we go to friends’ houses, cooking up what we have and giving it to others in as many different contexts as we can.

Let’s see whether anyone can sabotage that, eh?

Author:

I'm a stay-at-home mum to four kids between 1 and 6, and was formerly a teacher. I blog about living life as a disciple of Christ whilst coping with the demands and excitements of having small children. I've been battling an addiction with chocolate for many years. I'm generally winning, but my teeth are not.

6 thoughts on “sabbath week day 3: sabotage

  1. God is just crazily generous too! Love this! (It makes me think of the bit where David says, “I want to build you a lovely house God” and God says, “Pah! Think that’s generous? I’m going to give you a kingdom that’ll last forever – top THAT!”) xxx

  2. Ah, now that’s a tricky one! People care and love you so much their generosity has foiled your attempts! What very lovely friends you have! I like your ingenuity!

Leave a Reply

