mister wants a tattoo

2013-06-09 22.32.15
“Monster” by Mister, drawn this morning.

At least, I think he does.

On our way home from church this evening, we passed a man with a heavily-tattooed arm. “I want my arm to look like his arm,” said Mister.

“Ah,” I replied. “You want a tattoo?”

“No,” he insisted firmly. “I want a robot.”

Puzzled, I continued, “Er…well a tattoo is just a picture on your arm. You could have a robot tattoo.”

He didn’t seem to make the connection, but was clearly impressed by having a drawing on your arm. I didn’t feel it my place to inform him of a) the pain, b) the cost, and c) the legalities (quite a few years to go until he’s allowed one) of tattooing, but found this little exchange rather amusing.

It may come as a surprise to you to hear that I want Mister to have a tattoo also. I want him to have a tattoo of God’s words fixed so firmly into his life that he longs to please Christ more than anyone else.

Fix these words of mine in your hearts and minds; tie them as symbols on your hands and bind them on your foreheads.Teach them to your children, talking about them when you sit at home and when you walk along the road, when you lie down and when you get up.

Deuteronomy 11:18-19

The older Mister gets, the more passionately I hope and pray for Him to know and love Jesus throughout his life. Above everything I could possibly want for him and his future, this is the prized possession, the one goal of eternal value.

Yes, I hope he does well academically – but not at the expense of craving godly wisdom and understanding.

Yes, I hope he excels at music or sport or art or something impressive – but not at the expense of understanding that God loves him even if he never ‘achieves’ anything impressive in human terms.

Yes, I hope he ends up doing a job he loves – but not at the expense of realising the perfect plan God has for him.

Yes, I hope he marries and has his own children one day – but not at the expense of forsaking his true Bridegroom (John 3:29).

Yes, I want the best for him – but I know that God’s best is the very best I could possibly pray for him.

Mister – my adored son,

The more days I spend with you, the more I so desperately want your life to reflect God’s glory. I praise God that you’ve come to know Jesus as your ‘friend’, and pray that as you grow and experience new things – good and bad – you will always know the love, protection and guidance of the One who sent His son to die for you. And I pray that, as you grow into this realisation, you will want to live more devotedly, more passionately, more distinctively as His adored son and disciple.

Love,

Mummy x

5 Replies to “mister wants a tattoo”

  1. Oh my gosh, what a beautiful prayer to pray for your son! Blubbing! How blessed are children whose parents want to share this wonderful inheritance with them. I pray that Deut 11 verse motivates us all to action and that our little ones grow to be fearless disciples of Christ! It’s particularly amazing, I find, to be able to say to your child “God doesn’t mind” when they slip up – it’s the language they understand, and really highlights God’s endless love. I’m so happy I don’t have to worry any more about how Freddie will fare academically, who he’ll befriend/marry, etc – we are seeking a very different kingdom now! Well done Lucy on turning a winning, amusing Joel-story into a profound statement of a mother’s love – made possible by the One who first loved you!

  2. Oooh… I wrote a blog post last night about those verses in Deuteronomy! Watch out for it tomorrow! I love the bit in here where you talk about wanting Joel to excel in sport/music/academia etc but not at the expense of his relationship with God. Really beautiful.
    Ed

  3. Lovely to see you all over the weekend, Lucy; and to spend time with your gorgeous children. Every time I see them I cannot help but think of those children I have worked with over the years whose lives have been wrecked by poverty, every sort of deprivation, abuse and a culture of of total godlessness. To see Joel and Lois thriving in the abundance of your and Alistair’s human love for them and with such a strong spiritual and Godly foundation is a blessing not only for them but also for me. If only all children were so blessed. Much love, Brenda xx P.S And they even get your home-made coconut ice!!!!

  4. Lucy, I’m so glad to have discovered your blog after not having been in touch for ages! I really love the way you describe your life and bring a spiritual lesson from everything that happens…it makes me wish we had been better parents and shared what we believed like you do with so many others! Maybe it would have been great to have the internet available all those years ago! it would certainly have encouraged us to read blogs like yours! Thankyou so much!

Leave a Reply

