Posted in busyness, celebration, me

happy birthday, desertmum!

OK, it’s not an exact birthday – but Father’s Day last year marked the start of me trying to take this blog seriously and write regularly. I have no pearls of wisdom to share on Father’s Day this year, so forgive me if I recycle last year’s post, which can be found here. I just re-read it for the first time in ages, and found myself welling up again – if you’re a newer friend of desertmum, do have a quick look! (Oh, and while I’m lazily re-using old posts, do check out a recent short blog I wrote for Childrenswork magazine.)

But this is also a great chance to say THANK YOU! For reading, for encouraging, for supporting. When I started writing this blog, I had a vague idea of what I wanted to write about, but that’s expanded and broadened as I’ve had so much lovely and thought-provoking feedback from all you wonderful people. I’ve discovered that the things I thought wouldn’t interest you actually do – and, likewise, some of the things I was certain would provoke comment didn’t! It’s all been a great learning curve for me, and a great way to organise the thoughts that, during the day, I don’t have much opportunity to share with other adults. (At least, I might get part way there, before a nappy explosion, toy dispute or tumble off the sofa interrupts things!)

I’m sorry the blog’s been a little quiet of late. My life’s been – well, Interesting. And when life gets Interesting, the blog goes quiet! Rest assured, however, that just as soon as I have a moment, I’ll put fingers to keyboard again and share thoughts galore. There’s so much I want to blog about in the next month – watch this space!

Oh, and for those of you who spotted that I was between cameras, I thought I’d share a (rubbish, phone-camera) pic of our new camera, which just arrived!

2013-06-16 21.11.17I have no idea how to use it, and the manual’s in Spanish, but when I find time to download the English version and figure it all out, we can all say a relieved ‘goodbye’ to the dodgy photo quality you’ve come to expect from me. It will mark a new era in desertmum’s life. Hoorah.

Author:

I'm a stay-at-home mum to four kids between 1 and 6, and was formerly a teacher. I blog about living life as a disciple of Christ whilst coping with the demands and excitements of having small children. I've been battling an addiction with chocolate for many years. I'm generally winning, but my teeth are not.

2 thoughts on “happy birthday, desertmum!

  1. Happy birthday Desertmum! I have loved following your posts. Thank you for sharing your wisdom on everything from the Gospel to tumbles off the sofa! x

Leave a Reply

