Posted in change, family, identity, me, parenting, york

the case for ‘pre-loved’

Anyone who knows me knows I love a bargain. I break all rules of conversational etiquette when someone compliments me on something I’m wearing by responding with an enthusiastic declaration of how little it cost, and from where. Charity shops, second-hand sales, eBay – I love ‘pre-loved’.

But, over the last couple of years, I’ve been challenged to make this a central part of my shopping philosophy. Let me explain: I’m not talking about casually wandering into charity shops, buying the odd thing or two which, quite honestly, we don’t need anyway. I’m talking about changing our lifestyle so that we don’t buy new unless we absolutely need to.

Mister needs a bed – we search the community furniture store. We need a camera – we browse eBay. The kids need next season’s clothes – I scour charity shops and second-hand sales.

Joel's bed - or, should I say, 'hotbed' of pre-loved goodies: bed, bedguard and duvet cover.
Mister’s bed – or, should I say, ‘hotbed’ of pre-loved goodies: bed, bedguard and duvet cover.

Unless we need to buy something new (e.g. for safety/hygiene reasons) OR we simply can’t find what we need second-hand, my preference is to buy pre-loved.

Why such a fuss about pre-loved?

* To slow the unnecessary production of new goods. The earth simply cannot sustain the incessant demand on its resources to create yet more ‘stuff’ which will only be disposed of a few months or years down the line. We need to be re-using and re-using as much as we possibly can!

* To reduce the profits of companies which exploit their workers. For example: clothing. I’ve explored various ethical clothing options over the last few years, and have come to the conclusion that the most affordable ethical option is to buy pre-loved clothes. I hate the irony that my children’s clothes may have been made by similar-aged children who don’t share their privileges – and I was appalled to discover, shortly after the Bangladesh tragedy, that two ‘bargain’ cardigans I’d recently bought were made in Bangladesh. Buying pre-loved high street clothes doesn’t change the fact that they weren’t made ethically – but it does mean that those companies aren’t making extra profit from me buying their clothes brand new, and of course it frees up my money to give to charities and fair trade businesses who are working for justice.

* To lessen landfill waste. Why should someone have to chuck something still perfectly usable? If I can take it off their hands, that’s much better for the environment.

* It’s cheaper. This might mean that a better quality product can be obtained, or that more money is saved to give away. Or both.

If we call ourselves Christians, we have no choice but to be concerned about these issues. God is clearly concerned for the earth (He created it), people’s well-being (He created them), waste (which ruins the earth He created) and money (which is His anyway). We need to align our concerns with God’s concerns.

My beautiful sewing machine. The best thing Freecycle ever gave me.
My beautiful sewing machine. The best thing Freecycle ever gave me.

So what’s stopping us?

* Pride. Perhaps the biggest obstacle between us and the pre-loved market is that we don’t want to be seen with an older or scruffier version of what we really want. We’re concerned with what people think of us, and, to some extent, our identity is wrapped up in what we own. Amy Ross, CAP Intern, challenges us to be ‘free from fashion’ in her excellent article about being ethical on a budget.

* Choice. We live in a consumer-orientated culture, where we can be picky down to the tiniest detail of colour, shape, size, style and brand of whatever we’re buying. I do this regularly – and usually don’t even notice, sucked in as I am by the world’s way. I have to ask myself, Does this really matter in God’s kingdom? Whether I buy a doll’s pram which is wooden or metal, pink or blue, close to the floor or ever so slightly elevated? Does it matter, from an eternal perspective?

* Time. Finding what we want in a pre-loved state is often time-consuming. It could involve hours spent trawling through eBay and Gumtree, frequenting a large number of charity shops, or putting second-hand sales in the diary. It is much quicker to simply walk into a shop and buy what we want straight away.

* Organisation. Pre-loved items, unfortunately, don’t always present themselves at the time you need them. Often it takes a bit of forward planning to get them. If the fact that my children need wellies only dawns on me at the point at which they move up a shoe size, I probably have no option but to buy new ones. The cost? £10 for me. Rubber, plastic, fossil fuels for the earth. Perhaps a day’s badly-paid labour for someone on the other side of the world. But if I can predict that they will need wellies in the future (and in the UK, let’s face it, it’s not a difficult prediction), then I can search for them in the next few sizes up whenever I’m in a charity shop or at a kids’ second-hand sale. It’s difficult to be organised about shopping, when our culture is all about being able to buy whatever you want whenever you want it – but perhaps it’s a small price to pay in order for God’s earth and God’s people to be treated with respect.

Joel's wellies - a bargain at £2ish. I have a mild obsession with pre-loved wellies. I say mild obsession - it's bordering on mental illness.
Mister’s wellies – a bargain at £2ish. I have a mild obsession with pre-loved wellies. (I say mild obsession – it’s bordering on mental illness.)

* Quality. There are often no guarantees with pre-loved items. They could break within days of receiving them. However, my experience has shown this to be the exception rather than the rule, and with the money saved overall, the odd mistake is affordable.

* Instant satisfaction. We want something now and buying pre-loved takes longer than that. But perhaps instant gratification isn’t good for us. Perhaps we’ll appreciate our possessions more if they’ve taken longer to source. Perhaps we’ll appreciate them more if we know that, through their purchase, we have done some good.

Don’t some of us need to buy new items, so that the pre-loved market stays healthy?

Perhaps there is some argument here. But I don’t see any slowing down of the availability of pre-loved goods. Car boot sales and charity shops are everywhere, and Ebay ain’t going out of business just yet. Let’s first plunder the second-hand market for all it can give us – then perhaps we can argue this statement a little stronger.

But when I buy a new item, surely I’m helping to provide jobs for people?

Yes – kind of. You’re providing a job for a Western shop assistant, and others involved in the (probably Western) company. But perhaps somewhere else on the planet, another person has lost a job because their trade is dying out due to cheaper products being mass produced elsewhere. Perhaps the person who made the item isn’t being paid what they should. Yes, they have a job – but not one which can support them.

Also, some second-hand outlets do provide jobs – for those who really need them. By buying from them, you’re indeed creating the right jobs. The wonderful Bike Rescue Project in York (who supplied Mister’s new bike, his pride and joy) employ and train ex-offenders and unemployed people. I like that my money has gone to them. Some charity shops pay some of their staff. And, for all we know, people selling at a car boot or on eBay may be selling things in order to support their families.

Joel's new bike.
Mister’s new bike.

***

This is an issue which has been tugging at my heart-strings recently. (Can you tell?!) Of course there are lots of times when it’s just impossible to find things pre-loved. I have tried, and failed, to source pre-loved toys for the kids’ birthday presents this year. I’m currently not having much luck finding pre-loved bunk beds. It’s a real privilege to be able to buy new items whenever we need them – but from now on I want to make pre-loved my first choice.

* Do you buy pre-loved? If so, how do you go about it? How do you make it work for you?

* If not, what stops you? Is it lack of time, the possibility of damaged goods, or something else?

* How do you consider how you spend your money? Do you see it as a force for good?

(P.S. Sorry for the poor quality of the photos. My pre-loved eBay camera is currently having its flash fixed. I’d love to say this was an ironic joke but, sadly, it’s not. See point about ‘quality’ above.)

Author:

I'm a stay-at-home mum to four kids between 1 and 6, and was formerly a teacher. I blog about living life as a disciple of Christ whilst coping with the demands and excitements of having small children. I've been battling an addiction with chocolate for many years. I'm generally winning, but my teeth are not.

12 thoughts on “the case for ‘pre-loved’

  1. I do use preloved where possible, for all the reasons you mention. I treat my local nearly new sale like a swap shop. I take my unwanted items (baby clothes grown out of etc) and sell them, and while I’m there buy the next size up!

    I wouldn’t describe myself as fashion conscious, but I do have a style and find charity shops a nightmare, but love ebay as I can find my favourite brands for a fraction of the price, if only a season or 2 behind!

    1. Yes, sometimes it does take time and patience to find just the right thing. I don’t think buying pre-loved means we totally have to sacrifice our sense of style, it just loosens us up a little, and reminds us what’s important. I also think that God often does honour our desire to re-use and lessen our impact on the world by providing just the right thing in a pre-loved state! There have been a couple of times I can remember when I even found a BETTER pre-loved item than I was hoping for!

      And thanks for the pingback too!

  2. I love buying things 2nd hand. My keyboard and all of my woodwind instruments are 2nd hand (just disinfect mouthpiece and buy new reeds then its good as new). Some items are so expensive to buy new and my obsession with buying musical instruments works out expensive had I brought them all new. With clothing I’m not ashamed to say that I buy most of my clothes in ASDA so my jeans from ASDA are like £7 and they last me for a long time (longest pair I’ve got are about 8 years old). I hate buying new clothes because they take ages to wear in and as long as my clothes are really hole-y I don’t buy new ones. When I was living back home, when our clothes were really hole-y we used to give them to a friend we knew who liked to make patchwork things instead of her having to buy material. Old t-shirts are great for that sort of thing and it saved her loads of money.

    With being a student I always look for books from the reading list on Ebay first for 2nd hand – other peoples notes can come in really handy.

    It makes you feel a bit better about yourself I think when you shop in 2nd hand stores and like you say, it saves loads of rubbish.

    1. That’s really encouraging Kerry – I love your tip about finding second hand academic books and getting others’ notes – what a great idea! And so cool that your friend who patchworked out of old material. I’ve done a little bit of that (not patchwork, I’m not that clever) and will be blogging about it soon!

  3. Thanks for this reminder Lucy – just been on ebay and found some shoelaces I was about to buy new! 2nd hand stuff just takes that little bit more effort and I so often need a bit of this sort of encouragement to manage it.

    1. Hi Danni! Thanks so much for reblogging this – I’m very touched, whether 1 or 100 people read it! I was the same as a child, didn’t like second-hand stuff, although I did happen to have very cool cast-offs from a rich, fashionable girl a bit older than me, and those I liked very much!! But I think a major difference is that, relatively speaking, toys and clothes were much more expensive back then. With the advent of supermarkets branching out into clothing, homeware, toys and more, you can pick up most things new at a ridiculously cheap price. I think I grew up with a lot of second-hand stuff because we couldn’t afford everything new. Nowadays, I could afford to buy everything new if I wanted (not because we’re rich, just because it’s all become so darn cheap!), so it’s a philosophical decision not to do so. I’m hoping that my kids grow up realising it’s a much healthier option all round, rather than feeling it’s forced upon them!

  4. Lucy……you are amazing!!! I could write a whole page about this (which actually I just tried to do but it won’t let me post it for some reason). I’m all about secondhand too, although that was not always the case! I hated being dragged around the charity shops with mam when I was a kid, and I hated wearing other peoples castoffs even more. Boy, how times have changed! No I’m into every bargain going and love taking something usable off someone elses hands. I hope you don’t mind, I’ve reposted this to my blog……..hoping to change the minds of others although I’m not sure anyone even reads it. Keep up the cracking Posts, I always love reading them! Danielle xx

Leave a Reply

