hospitality mini-series

Desert Dad and I gave a sermon a few weeks ago, under the title ‘Is the church really family?’. It came at the end of a short series looking at singleness, marriage and family life. Speaking on 1 Peter 4:7-11, we focused on hospitality as the primary way in which Christians can really become ‘family’ to each other. If you’d like to listen to the sermon, you can do so either here (for the shorter version) or here (for the better version): your choice. Scroll down to 24/11/13, Al and Lucy Rycroft.

I made the two commonest errors known to inexperienced preachers: I spoke too fast and I included too many different ideas. (Sorry.) And there were plenty of thoughts I had to leave out when preparing. So, over the next few weeks, I’m going to be jotting down a few of them on this blog – things I didn’t have time to include in the sermon, as well as things I didn’t have time to go into in depth. I was immensely challenged – and still am being – by God’s promptings during sermon planning!

To whet your appetite, here’s what I have lined up:

1) Why open our homes?

2) What hospitality isn’t (Mary and Martha)

3) Hospitality = generosity (The little boy with the packed lunch)

4) The ‘how’ of hospitality no.1 – being intentional

5) The ‘how’ of hospitality no.2 – designing your home

6) The notion of personal space

7) Where’s the comfort?

8) The blessings of a hospitable home

I may play around a little with the titles, but that’s a rough outline. Mainly, I hope it will bless those of you who feel utterly exhausted by the idea of having others in your home, because hospitality is certainly not something to feel guilty about.

See you for the first installment in a few days’ time…

Leave a Reply

