Posted in craft, easter, family, parenting

simple easter card craft

On Sunday evening, I was scouring the Internet, trying to find some simple Easter activities that I could do with my 4-year old and 2-year old this week – fun, creative things which they could easily manage, and which would prompt us to remember and talk about the Easter story. I found very little for this age!

So here is something we devised instead. It uses printmaking – a technique my kids and I don’t use as often as we’d like, but which always yields beautiful results. In their Easter basket yesterday morning (more on these in tomorrow’s post!), I put paints, Duplo, okra, a cardboard roll wrapped in wool, and some grey tomb/stone shapes which I’d cut out.

And it was simple: the kids decorated the tombs and stones with whichever printmaking technique they liked.

IMG_4080[1]

We used Duplo and okra (ideas courtesy of The Imagination Tree – thank you!), and also a cardboard roll wrapped in wool (an idea taken and adapted from An Everyday Story – thanks!) – obviously the end of the cardboard roll got used too!

IMG_4084[1]

As did the end of the Duplo block!

IMG_4086[1]

And, of course, our fingers!

IMG_4088[1]

I stuck them on some blank greetings cards, added some wording, and they will make great Easter cards for the kids to give family and friends this week.

IMG_4092[1]

IMG_4103[1]

Author:

I'm a stay-at-home mum to four kids between 1 and 6, and was formerly a teacher. I blog about living life as a disciple of Christ whilst coping with the demands and excitements of having small children. I've been battling an addiction with chocolate for many years. I'm generally winning, but my teeth are not.

2 thoughts on “simple easter card craft

Leave a Reply

