Posted in food, recipes

2015: the year of books (part two)

Wow, thanks for so many recommendations of books for 2015! Here is my list – you’ll notice it’s a little short of 12, to allow for a couple already on my bedside table, and any book reviews which may come up this year. I’m grateful for such a diverse array of fascinating-sounding books – thank you! They are (in no particular order):

Better than Sex – Hunter S. Thompson

Compared to her – Sophie de Witt

The Eyre Affair – Jasper Fforde

The Secret Life of a Lonely Postman – Denis Theriault

Hands-free Mama – Rachel Macy Stafford

Bread and Wine – Shauna Niequest

A Praying Life – Paul E. Miller

Attention All Shipping – Charlie Connelly

Animal, Vegetable, Miracle – Barbara Kingsolver

The night circus – Erin Morgenstern

I suspect some of these titles will take me much longer than a month to really digest, so it might be that I start overlapping titles, in order to savour them for longer. But……….

……..how exciting is it, to have a tailor-made list of ten books which your friends love??!! I can’t wait to get stuck in!

The second challenge

My second challenge for 2015 is to make better use of my cook books. For a keen cook, I don’t have a huge selection, but I have more than I use. So, each month, I’ll take one book, and cook through it as best I can, using as many recipes as possible over 30 days or so.  Why do this?

IMG_0143[1]

* I love to be adventurous with food, but feel that my cooking got stuck in a bit of a rut in 2014

* I want to know whether chefs’ recipes actually work in practice, for quick and easy midweek meals, as well as longer weekend menus. Do they deliver on flavour, or just look pretty?

* I want to get to know my cooking library better, to know which books to keep and which to charity-shop.

I’ll blog about this each month, recommending cook books and pondering just how ‘workable’ recipe-book recipes actually are.

IMG_0142[1]***

So there are my challenges. If I only read six books this year, I’ll not feel that that’s been a waste of time. And if I discover just two fab new recipes, likewise, I won’t complain. There will be no guilt, and there will be a good amount of celebration during 2015 – because if you can’t keep up previous resolutions, then what’s the point?

Author:

I'm a stay-at-home mum to four kids between 1 and 6, and was formerly a teacher. I blog about living life as a disciple of Christ whilst coping with the demands and excitements of having small children. I've been battling an addiction with chocolate for many years. I'm generally winning, but my teeth are not.

9 thoughts on “2015: the year of books (part two)

  1. Good luckm with your quest to get through all these, I’ve vowed not to buy anything else this year (not even from the charity shop) until I have read or passed on all that I have! Mich x

    1. Hey, nice to meet you Michelle! Great to have another fellow-Christian-blogger on Mumsnet! 🙂 I love your aim for 2015! For my part, I’m aiming to borrow as many of my 2015 books as possible! (Shouldn’t be too difficult since they’ve all been recommended by friends who probably own them…?!) x

Leave a Reply

